## **Punjab Crash out of Cooch Behar Trophy**

Fancied Punjab made an exit from the Cooch Behar Trophy when they crashed to a 116 runs defeat at the hands of Bengal at Kalyani in the quarter finals. Resuming at overnight 194 for 4 in 73 overs in their second innings Bengal were bowled out for 282 in 103 overs. Overnight Kazi Junedh Safai and Mohd Irfan Ansari took the score to 206 before Kazi Junedh Safai got out at the total of 206 and next man in Arif Ansari also fell at the same total being castled by Nipun Pandita before he could open his account. Bengal kept on losing wickets at regular intervals with Mohd. Irfan Ansari keeping one end up and scoring unbeaten 65 off 106 balls. Bengal were bowled out for 282 in 103 overs. For Punjab Rishab Bhagat 3 for 66, Nipun Pandita 2 for 48, Abhishek Sharma 2 for 28 Abhinav Sharma 1 for 29, Akul Partap Pandove 1 for 37 and Anmolpreet Singh 1 for 27 shared the spoils.

Punjab were given a daunting target of 373 runs in 58 overs. Punjab made a disastrous start losing opener Prabhsimran Singh who was caught by Arif Ansari off Knishak Seth before he could open his account. Thereafter Shubhman Gill and Abhishek Sharma members of the Asia Cup winning team got together to blast 60 runs for the second wicket in 9 overs before Abhishek Sharma was caught and bowled by Ishan Porel for 27 off 27 balls. Punjab received a rude shock when opener Shubman Gill was caught by Kazi Junedh Safai off Knishak Seth for 37 off 33 balls. Thereafter skipper Anmolpreet Singh kept one end up while he lost Abhinav Sharma (15) and Taranpreet Singh (18) with Punjab team's score reading 123 for 5 in 20 overs. At this stage Mayank Sidhu joined Anmolpreet Singh and duo started scoring at a brisk pace adding 120 runs in 21.2 overs before Mayank Sidhu was run out by Saurabh Singh for 49 off 73 balls. Next man in Mayank Markande was cleaned up by Sandeepan Dass for 08 with the teams total reading 257 for 7 in 43.5 overs. Thereafter in a land slide Punjab lost their last three wickets on the same score Anmolpreet Singh being caught by Mohd Irfan Ansari off Ishan Porel for 88 off 95 balls. Akul Partap Singh 0, Rishab Bhagat 0 did not bother the scorer and Punjab innings came to a strutting stop at 257 in 45.1 overs. For Bengal Ishan Porel 3 for 67, Knishak Seth 2 for 74, Sandeepan Dass 2 for 56 and Suraj Sindhu Jaiswal 2 for 57 were the main wicket takers.